Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggestions for Cataloging A Vinyl Collection

Default Suggestions for Cataloging A Vinyl Collection

I'm relatively new to OCD, although I've had it for awhile. I will be using it to catalog my father's record collection (4000+) that I've inhierited.

I would like to ask those more experienced users for any suggesstions, tips or tricks that will make my cataloging easier. I have discovered the Vinyl Side option which is very cool.

How do I input special characters for the French and German words?

Where can I find the album art for the older albums?

Are there suggestions for scanning in the album cover with a typical scanner?

Any suggestions will be appreciated. I am a sponge just waiting to soak up the combined knowledge of all these experienced users.

My thanks in advance.

Default Re: Suggestions for Cataloging A Vinyl Collection

Foreign characters are not a problem.

You can use the alt key + the number pad.

[url]http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/alabaster/A978636[/url]

I use a very good freeware program which gives a lot of extra options, e.g. entering chunks of often-used text (such as your email address) via a keyboard shortcut.

[url]http://allchars.zwolnet.com/[/url]

Quote Originally Posted by gurnemanz
    Foreign characters are not a problem.

You can use the alt key + the number pad.

[url]http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/alabaster/A978636[/url]

I use a very good freeware program which gives a lot of extra options, e.g. entering chunks of often-used text (such as your email address) via a keyboard shortcut.

[url]http://allchars.zwolnet.com/[/url]
    And all the keycodes are available (for those using some form of Windows) under Programs->Accessories->System Tools->Character Map. Easy enough to make up a simple cheat sheet for those you use regularly.